Flamenco & Fitness

Fabian Perez

Dance is a seriously great way to get in shape and have some fun. Flamenco is my way to move! And after a 3 hours rehearsal, I can tell you: I feel the muscle burn…

Hello lovelies! From personal experience I can undoubtedly confirm that dancing is one of the most fun ways to melt the love handles! Flamenco has been my secret weapon against those pesky muffin tops! It’s a full body workout! Let me explain…

In flamenco, you definitely get your cardio in as you go through drills and routines. Usually by the end of a dance, dancers are breathing heavily and glistening. Pretty much all muscles are engaged: arms are upheld; backs are straight; shoulders are held down; forearms, wrists and fingers move; thighs and butt work hard to keep balance and feet moving in fast patterns; and all the while the dancer’s core is working hard to maintain balance and the proper posture as he or she moves, spins and taps their way through choreography!

I’m not a big fan of going to the gym; never mind running on a treadmill (I’m reminded of a hamster wheel…). Dancing really is my way to move! So many people want a “dancer’s body.” Let’s dance and see what happens!

(Painting by Fabian Perez, Vinings Gallery)

2 Responses to “Flamenco & Fitness”

  1. clases

    This is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to seeking extra of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

